Past Events

The following is a list of events organised by the Collaboration. Where possible, presentations,reports and any other materials related to the events are made available here.

If you have a report, blog or write up of a Mercian Collaboration event you’d be prepared to share with us, please get in touch.

Upcoming Events

Date Location Description
Library Data: What are we collecting and why? Tuesday, October 19, 2021 - 10:00 to 12:00 Online event

All Libraries collect some data on the services they provide whether it’s information for the SCONUL statistics or local service monitoring. However, what data we collect, what we do with it, and how that relates to service improvement and decision making, isn’t always fully formed.

Directors Board (Oct '21) Monday, October 4, 2021 - 14:00 to Tuesday, October 5, 2021 - 16:00 Online meeting

The next meeting of the Mercian Collaboration’s Directors Board will be hosted online Thu 25th March 2021.

Staff Development Group (October '21 Meeting) Friday, October 1, 2021 - 10:30 to 12:30 Online meeting

A laptop on a table displaying a web conference meeting

Mercian Collaboration Conference 2021 Thursday, September 9, 2021 - 09:00 to Friday, September 10, 2021 - 13:00 Online event

A budding green leaf, set against a darker green plant in the background

Steering Group Meeting (July '21) Wednesday, July 21, 2021 - 14:00 Online meeting

A laptop on a desk next to flowers

Conference Group Meeting (June '21) Tuesday, June 22, 2021 - 09:00 to 12:00 Online meeting

Graphic showing people engaged in various online meetings

Trans-Awareness in the Library Wednesday, June 16, 2021 - 10:00 to 12:00 Online event

Composite image of three different people's heads overlaid on top of each other

Staff Development Group (June '21 Meeting) Tuesday, June 15, 2021 - 14:00 to 16:00 Online meeting

Laptop on a desk hosting an online video conference

Deputies & Senior Staff Meeting (May '21 meeting) Monday, May 24, 2021 - 14:00 to 16:00 Online meeting

A laptop on a table hosting a web meeting

Virtual Networking: Talking about Learning Thursday, April 22, 2021 - 15:00 to 16:30 Online event (Zoom)

Cartoon representation of a series of online web conferences

The next in the popular series of virtual network discussion sessions will be held Thursday 22nd April 2021.

Steering Group Meeting (Apr '21) Tuesday, April 20, 2021 - 14:00 to 16:00 Online meeting

Laptop and flowers sitting on top of a desk

Conference Group (April '21 Meeting) Friday, April 16, 2021 - 13:00 to 14:30 Online meeting

A laptop on a desk, next to some flowers, displaying a video conference call,

Handling Difficult Customer Situations Wednesday, April 14, 2021 - 09:45 to 12:00 Online event

Two cartoon people argue

Conference Group (March '21 Meeting) Tuesday, March 30, 2021 - 10:00 to 12:00 Online meeting

Laptop on a table showing an online video conference

Directors Board (March '21) Thursday, March 25, 2021 - 14:00 to 16:00

Laptop hosting an online meeting

Crowd Control: Library bookings in the lockdown landscape Wednesday, March 24, 2021 - 14:30 to 16:00 Zoom, Online event

People walking in a public space, with viruses superimposed

eBook Management eForum Wednesday, March 24, 2021 - 11:30 to 15:30 Online forum

A book shop with a woman reading a book in a leather chair

Staff Development Group (March '21 Meeting) Monday, March 15, 2021 - 14:00 Online meeting

A laptop hosting an online meeting, on an office table

Mercian Disability Forum (Mar '21 meeting) Monday, March 15, 2021 - 11:00 to 13:00 Online meeting

A video conference on a laptop, sat on a desk next to some flowers

Deputies & Senior Staff Meeting (March '21 meeting) Tuesday, March 2, 2021 - 14:00 to 16:00 Online

An online meeting seen on a laptop

Mercian Metadata Spring 2021 Meeting Wednesday, February 10, 2021 - 10:00 to 13:00 Online event

Diagram of a human brain against a background of printed circuits

Steering Group Meeting (Feb '21) Wednesday, February 3, 2021 - 09:00 to 11:00

Laptop hosting an online meeting

Planning and Delivering an Online Induction Programme during Covid Friday, January 29, 2021 - 11:00 to 12:30 Online event

View of Aston University Library, exterior

Due to the pandemic, induction for new students in 2020 had a very different look to it with the entire induction programme moving online.

Virtual Networking: Brave New Year Thursday, January 21, 2021 - 10:00 to 11:30 Online discussion event

People networking on screen

Come and welcome in the new year with our first virtual networking session of 2021.  

Conference Group (Jan '21 Meeting) Wednesday, January 13, 2021 - 14:00 to 16:00 Online meeting

Online meeting laptop on a table, with flowers to one side